Asset 20 8 2
Does AI recommend your business? Run the free check →

Join 15,000 business owners, marketers and entrepreneurs. The Sunday newsletter you'll be annoyed only arrives once a week.

Article

HubSpot vs Mailchimp: Which Email Tool Suits Your Business?

Mailchimp suits small businesses that mainly want to send newsletters and simple automations, but its Free plan stops at 250 contacts and 500 sends a month. HubSpot suits businesses that want email tied to a CRM from day one, with free email tools and a free CRM for up to two users and 1,000 contacts that doesn't expire. Ask whether you need a newsletter tool or a customer database.

Both tools let you design and send marketing emails without a developer. Underneath, they're built differently: one starts from email, the other starts from your customer records. I read Mailchimp's help centre article on its plans and HubSpot's email marketing and free CRM pages.

HubSpot and Mailchimp free plans compared

HubSpotMailchimp
Free optionFree email marketing tools plus free CRMYes, Free plan
Contacts on free1,000 in the free CRMUp to 250
Sends on freeNot stated on the pages I read500 sends a month, 250 a day
Users on freeUp to two1 seat (Owner)
ExpiryNo expiration dateNot stated; 14-day trial on upgraded plans
TemplatesGoal-based templates, drag-and-drop editorLimited selection on Free; all templates on Essentials
AutomationNot stated for the free email toolsSingle emails and flows up to 4 steps on Essentials
CRMBuilt inAudiences: 1 on Free, 3 on Essentials

HubSpot: email that sits on your CRM

HubSpot's email marketing page offers free email marketing tools with a drag-and-drop editor, goal-based templates for newsletters, birthday outreach, promotions, product launches and re-engagement, and AI-generated subject lines. You can personalise by contact name, company, lifecycle stage and list membership, because the email tools are joined to the CRM.

The free CRM page states the limits: up to two users and 1,000 contacts, with no limits on customer data and no expiration date. Marketing Hub has free and premium plans, and the Small Business Bundle gives you the Starter edition of each HubSpot product.

Mailchimp: built around the newsletter

Mailchimp's help centre lists four plans: Free, Essentials, Standard and Premium. Free covers up to 250 contacts and 500 sends a month, with a daily limit of 250, 1 audience, 1 seat, a limited set of templates, basic reporting, and landing pages and forms to try.

Essentials starts at 500 contacts and adds 3 audiences, 3 seats, single email automations, flows of up to 4 steps, all templates, A/B testing, scheduled emails and 24/7 email and chat support. Standard expands the automation flows and adds data-backed recommendations.

What happens when you pass 250 contacts

Here's the line in Mailchimp's help centre that catches people out. If your Free account goes over 250 contacts, Mailchimp puts a hold on sending live and test emails until you upgrade or reduce your contact count. You can still edit emails and import contacts, but you can't send. A list that grows from a single successful lead magnet can hit that in a week.

HubSpot's free CRM holds 1,000 contacts, four times Mailchimp's free contact limit, though the HubSpot pages I read don't state a free send limit.

Which business each one suits

Mailchimp suits shops, creators and small businesses whose main job is a regular newsletter and a few simple automations. HubSpot suits service businesses and B2B firms that want every email linked to a contact record, deals and follow-up tasks. For a wider view, see my guide on deciding which email marketing platform is best and these AI-powered HubSpot workflows.

Work with me

Want AI doing the heavy lifting in your marketing?

I build the systems that handle the boring 80 percent, so you get your week back. Done properly, with the human kept in.

My advice on picking an email tool

Look at how many contacts you have today and where that'll be in six months. If you'll stay under 250 contacts and only need a newsletter, Mailchimp Free will do it. If you're already past 250, or you want sales follow-up tied to each contact, start on HubSpot's free CRM and email tools. Whichever you choose, export your contacts every few months so you're never locked in.

Do you make email marketing software? Tool makers can ask to be considered for a featured place in comparisons like this one.

Frequently asked questions

Is Mailchimp free?

Yes. Mailchimp's Free plan includes up to 250 contacts and 500 sends a month, with a daily limit of 250.

Is HubSpot email marketing free?

HubSpot offers free email marketing tools, and its free CRM supports up to two users and 1,000 contacts with no expiration date.

What happens if I go over 250 contacts on Mailchimp Free?

Mailchimp's help centre says a hold is placed on sending live and test emails until you upgrade or reduce your contacts. You can still edit emails and import contacts.

How many users can use each free plan?

HubSpot's free CRM allows up to two users. Mailchimp's Free plan includes 1 seat with Owner permissions.

Does Mailchimp include automations?

Mailchimp's Essentials plan includes single email automations and automation flows of up to 4 steps. Standard expands the flows.

Published and maintained by the Lilach Bullock team, covering marketing, AI and business growth.
Your buyers are asking AI who to use. Does it say you?

See for free whether ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, Gemini and Google name you, and get the plan to become the answer.

Check my AI visibility →
Sundays only

Get the Sunday newsletter.

One email a week. AI experiments, marketing tactics, and the workflows Lilach is building right now in her own business.

Subscribe free

Let’s get your marketing running on AI.

Book a free 30-minute call

We figure out what you need, where AI fits in, and what working together would look like.

Book the call →

Or take the 30-second calculator

You’ll see the hours and the money quietly leaking out of your week, and the three workflows worth building first.

Take the calculator →

Or grab the free AI resource library

Prompt packs, templates, checklists, and swipe files. The exact tools I build for paying clients. Yours, free.

Get the library →
Keep reading

More from the blog.