Klarna alternatives fall into three groups: pay-in-4 apps that split a purchase into four instalments, longer plans that spread a bigger purchase over months, and services that split the bill on a credit card you already hold. Shoppers and merchants need different tools, so start with which side you're on. Ten options follow in no particular order.
Here's the short version. If you've searched for Klarna alternatives, you're either a shopper looking for another way to split a purchase or a retailer looking for another checkout option. The providers below do one or both, and they don't all work the same way.
The ten options are listed alphabetically and in no particular order, and every description comes from each provider's own website, read as of Oct 2026. Nothing here is financial advice, so read the terms on the provider's own site before you sign up.
Klarna alternatives at a glance
I checked the free plan column on each vendor's own website, as of Oct 2026. Yes means the page names a free plan, a free version or an open source edition. Trial only means it names a time-limited free trial. Not stated means the page I read named neither, so check the vendor's own site before you sign up.
| Tool | Type | Good for | Free plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Affirm | Pay-over-time plans and card | Flexible plans and a card for online or in-store | Not stated |
| Afterpay | Pay-in-4 and longer plans | Four instalments or plans up to 24 months | Not stated |
| Bread Pay | Merchant instalment platform | Retailers adding instalments and split pay at checkout | Not stated |
| Humm | Larger-limit buy now pay later | Bigger purchases with longer to pay | Not stated |
| Sezzle | Pay-in-4 app | Simple four-part plans at partner stores | Not stated |
| Splitit | Instalments on your own card | Splitting a purchase without a new credit line | Not stated |
| Sunbit | Point-of-sale financing | Dental, vet, optical and auto service bills | Not stated |
| Uplift | Flex pay by Upgrade | Instalments managed in the Upgrade app | Not stated |
| Zilch | Instalment credit card (UK) | Six-week and monthly plans in one app | Not stated |
| Zip | Buy now pay later app | Splitting payments online and in store | Not stated |
Ten buy now pay later options besides Klarna
Affirm
Best for: Shoppers who want flexible plans to pay over time, plus a card that works online or in store and an app showing their purchasing power.
Afterpay
Best for: Buyers wanting the choice of four instalments or a longer plan over 3, 6, 12 or 24 months, with brands to shop through the app.
Bread Pay
Best for: Merchants that want instalment plans online or in store, plus a split-pay option aimed at customers who want short-term financing.
Humm
Best for: People wanting bigger limits and longer to pay, from a provider whose site serves Australia, Canada, Ireland and the UK.
Sezzle
Best for: Shoppers who want a straightforward pay-in-4 plan and a store directory to browse brands by category, from clothing to home and electronics.
Splitit
Best for: Cardholders who'd rather split a purchase on the credit card they already hold, keeping card rewards with no lengthy application or credit check.
Sunbit
Best for: Patients and car owners spreading dental, veterinary, optical or auto service bills over time, through a provider found inside those businesses.
Uplift
Best for: Buyers who want flex pay from the lender behind it, Upgrade, with every instalment managed in its dashboard or mobile app.
Zilch
Best for: UK shoppers wanting pay-over-6-weeks or monthly plans on a card, with an app that tracks the next instalment date and lets them repay early.
Zip
Best for: Anyone splitting big payments into smaller ones, online or in store, using one app that works wherever they shop.
Want AI doing the heavy lifting in your marketing?
I build the systems that handle the boring 80 percent, so you get your week back. Done properly, with the human kept in.
Laybuy now answers as Klarna NZ, and other name changes
Here's what I found reading the provider pages. The laybuy.com address now loads a page titled Klarna NZ, so a name that used to sit on lists like this one is now Klarna itself. And Uplift now trades as Flex Pay by Upgrade, so the old brand name won't get you far in a search.
The labels have drifted too. Zilch's UK page asks you to apply for a no-interest credit card, with a note that fees apply, and Bread Pay sits under the business payment solutions of its parent, Bread Financial. So two of these ten are really a card and a merchant tool, not pay-in-4 apps.
Pay-in-4, longer plans or your own credit card?
- Pay-in-4 apps. These split a purchase into four parts, usually managed in an app. It's what most people mean by buy now pay later, and it's the closest like-for-like swap.
- Longer instalment plans. For bigger purchases spread over months. Afterpay's US page now offers plans over 3, 6, 12 or 24 months alongside four instalments, so one provider can cover both jobs.
- Instalments on a card you already hold. Splitit's page title reads buy now pay later using your own credit card. You split the purchase against credit you've already got, so there's no new application.
- Merchant tools. If you sell rather than buy, you're choosing a checkout provider, and the right question is which plans your customers want to see.
Questions to ask before you switch from Klarna
- Are you the shopper or the merchant? The same brand often has two very different sign-ups.
- What happens if you pay late? Read the provider's own terms page, not a comparison table.
- Does it work in your country? Several of these pages loaded a regional site, and one lists Australia, Canada, Ireland and the UK.
- Does the plan show on your credit file? Some plans can help build a file and some can hurt it.
- Can you see every plan in one place? An app that shows the next instalment date makes a missed payment less likely.
Missed instalments are where these plans bite. My guide on whether instalment loans help your credit explains how lenders see them.
Do you make a buy now pay later app? Tool makers can ask to be considered for a featured place on this list.
My plain advice if you're leaving Klarna
Decide first whether you're shopping or selling. If you're a shopper, a pay-in-4 app is the closest swap, and splitting on a card you already hold avoids opening a new line of credit. If you only need the odd big purchase spread over months, look for a provider that offers both short and long plans so you don't end up juggling two apps. Whatever you choose, set up automatic repayments and keep the number of live plans small.
Still weighing Klarna itself? My review Is Klarna legit? covers how its plans and checks work. And if you're a merchant, my roundup of payment gateways shows where instalments sit at checkout.
Want your tool on this list? Featured spots and reviews here are paid partnerships. Here's how to partner with me.
Frequently asked questions
What's the best alternative to Klarna?
There isn't one answer. Shoppers who want four instalments have several pay-in-4 apps to choose from, people buying something bigger may want a longer plan, and anyone who'd rather not open new credit can split the purchase on an existing card.
Is there a buy now pay later option that uses your own card?
Yes. Some providers split a purchase against a credit card you already hold, so there's no new application and you keep your card rewards. Check whether a finance charge applies to the type of split you choose.
Is Laybuy still an alternative to Klarna?
Not as a separate option. When I read it in Oct 2026, the laybuy.com address loaded a page titled Klarna NZ.
Can buy now pay later affect your credit?
It can. Some providers run checks and some plans show up on your credit file, so missed payments can count against you. Read each provider's own terms before you sign up.
Are Klarna alternatives available in the UK?
Yes. Some providers on this list run UK sites and one lists the UK among the four countries it serves, but availability changes, so check the provider's site in your own country.


